comics news and review, opinions

What I Leave Behind on Comics I Will Drop

I re-starting reading and collecting comics in 2011, with the emergence of DC Comics’ New 52 initiative and Ultimate Marvel Reborn by Marvel Comics. So I’m returning to a hobby I left behind in 2006 or so and I may be a little rusty on collecting. But one thing for sure is that my reading habits are at a constant evolution. Some comics I’ve decided to leave behind and others I have managed to hold on. And still others I have managed to get ahold of and keep reading. There are many factors on why I keep or leave behind and many who can read comics do the same. But so far this is my list of comics I read this year and I will include comics that I have left behind this year or planning to do so and I will explain my reasons. You may not agree to em, but we can agree to disagree.

What I CUrrently Read:

1.All New X-Men
2.Aquaman
3.Batman Beyond Unlimited ( Batman Beyond Universe)
4.Captain Marvel
5.Fanboys VS Zombies
6.Flash
7.Ghostbusters
8.Green Lantern
9.Green Lantern: New Guardians
10.Justice League
11.The Manhattan Projects
12.Planetoid
13.Superior Spider Man
14.Ultimate Comics Spider Man
15.Ultimate Comics Ultimates
16.Ultimate Comics X-Men
17.Uncanny X-Men
18. X-Men

It looks like a lot and trust me it is but it is time to admit that some of these Comics I will be droping soon for various reasons. Some I will drop entirely and others I will get em only online.

What I’ll Drop :

All New X-Men- This may shock some but not everything that Brian Michael Bendis writes is good, however it is good enough for me to get online. I expect this series to finish after X-Men Battle of the Atoms in September.

Captain Marvel: This one I will drop because of budget concerns that I may be overextending and the fact that I cannot afford to get the current crossover here.

Fanboys VS Zombies: Liked it when Sam Humphries was there at the helm but unfortunately I will drop it soon since he left.

Ghostbusters: This one I’m limiting to online, but not physical print.

Green Lantern: Geoff Johns run was nothing short of epic but I feel like it’s time to move on.

Green Lantern New Guardians: The fact that I grew to hate the blue bastards and seeing em here with Kyle Rayner means that I’m leaving this series. I liked it when there were all members of the lantern coprs interacting wit heach other.

“Superior” Spider Man: This “bash” Peter Parker’s legacy is tiring me and after issue 9 I knew that it’s time to let it go. CANNOT STAND that comic anymore.

Uncanny X-Men and X-men: Both are going to buy online only.

There are 2 comics that are upcoming and decided to hatch on and see where it goes from here on:

1.Superman Unchained: Scott Snyder and Jim Lee. Sure Snyder kinda screwed up Death of the Family in the end but I still have faith in him.

2. Batman Beyong Universe: This is one universe that refuses to die and since I watched Batman Beyond as a kid I am glad that it keeps living on even if it is on the comic medium.

stay gold and later

Standard

2 thoughts on “What I Leave Behind on Comics I Will Drop

  1. I do suggest you to add Green Arrow to your pull list. It has all the things I love most in comics: urban setting, dark atmosphere, street level and non super-powered leading character, action packed scenes, clever plot, great stage tricks… a 5 stars series, that’s for sure.
    The problem is, it leaves you a bit ruined for other comics. I’ve been searching for other books that reach the same heights but there aren’t many out there.
    One of them is Witchblade. It faced a sort of reboot from issue # 151, and it’s been pure awesomeness each month since then.
    2 other series that can stand comparison with Green Arrow are Hawkeye and Vibe. Hawkeye has a very similar narrative pattern, now that I think about it: it focuses on a street level and non superpowered superhero, and both Green Arrow and Hawkeye have a self-deprecation humor I absolutely adore.

  2. ANXM, UXM, X-Men and Captain Marvel are all among my favourite comics going right now, with Captain Marvel and X-Men, in particular, being Must-Buys. Captain Marvel has been a fantastic series, and is soon going to be Marvel’s only ongoing female solo title, with JiM and Red She-Hulk ending. I feel like it’s important to support female characters and creators, to prove that they can be viable. The comic book industry doesn’t have a great history with females, and that’s something that those of us who love comics should do our best to change.

Leave a Reply

